Anti-Semitism grading by Rabbi Yaakov Dov Bleich

Anti-Semitism grading by Rabbi Yaakov Dov Bleich

Chief Rabbi of Kyiv and Ukraine, Yaakov Dov Bleich, defines 5 levels of anti-Semitism.

He stated this on his Twitter page:

In terms of significance and threat to society, Rabbi Yaakov Dov Bleich distinguishes the following levels of anti-Semitism manifestation (from the lesser to the greater):

1 Anti-Semitic statement by a politician or a public figure.

2 Glorification of the Nazis, neo-Nazis or anti-Semites.

3 Attack on Jewish property or memorial.

4 Public call for attacks on Jews or national minorities.

5 Physical assault on Jews or minorities.

According to the rabbi, Ukraine on this scale, fortunately, has not dropped below the 2nd point in the recent decades, which cannot be said about some other European countries, in which the 5th point is not unusual.

Of course, isolated instances of desecration of the Jewish memorials and attacks on Jews do happen also in Ukraine, however, according to Rabbi Yaakov Dov Bleich, they are not of a systemic nature.

A relatively tolerant attitude towards Jews and other national minorities in Ukraine does not mean that one can rest on one’s laurels; on the contrary, it is necessary to deal with any and all instances of hostility manifestation based on ethnicity or religion as quickly as possible, not to hush them up, but to bring the perpetrators to justice. This is the key to the further development of democratic Ukraine.